top of page
  • Facebook

Make Mitchell County Your Home

If you are considering a relocation to Beloit, or one of the surrounding communities in Mitchell County we would like to take this opportunity to welcome you. Below you will find important contact information for the City of Beloit, and surrounding areas. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Welcome to Mitchell County. Located in North Central Kansas, in the Solomon Valley, we are home to the Waconda Lake and Glen Elder State Park. Mitchell County is comprised of our largest town and county seat, Beloit, in addition to Glen Elder, Cawker City, Tipton, Hunter, Scottsville, Asherville, Simpson, and Solomon Rapids. 

Enjoy the small town life with modern amenities, the comfort of quiet streets and friendly neighbors awaits you. Welcome home to Mitchell County.

Beloit is a city in, and the county seat of Mitchell County, Kansas. As of the 2010 census, the city population was 3,385. Beloit is just 15 minutes from Waconda Lake and Glen Elder State Park, which are some of the country's best pheasant hunting areas and provide excellent fishing, hunting, camping, and nature study opportunities. 

City Office:

119 N Hersey 

Beloit, KS 67420


City Manager: Jason Rabe

Community Development: Emily Benedick

Electric Utility Department

Parks & Recreation

Police Department

Located on Hwy 24 and the north edge of Waconda Lake, Cawker City's history includes the World's Largest Ball of Sisal Twine created by a local farmer. Recreation includes Lakeside Park, a 9-hole golf course located directly alongside the lake.

City Office:

804 Locust St

Cawker City, KS 67430


Glen Elder is a farming community, located on Hwy 24, home of Waconda Lake and Glen Elder State Park. Enjoy the city's original design of a town square surrounding Neffel Park

City Office:

213 S. Market St. PO Box 55

Glen Elder, KS 67446


Tipton is a small farming community on Hwy 181, with a history of agricultural manufacturing. Visit the traditional main street with a grocery store, hardware, bank, cafe, museum, and other area attractions. One hundred-year-old private high school remains open here. 

City Office:

608 Main St.

Tipton, KS 67485


Small farming community located on Hwy 181.

Other Mitchell County towns include Scottsville in northeastern Mitchell County, just off Hwy 9. Additional towns on Hwy 24 are Asherville and Simpson, just east of Beloit and Solomon Rapids, located west of Beloit. 

© 2023 Beloit Area Chamber of Commerce

Site Design | Eberle Studios

Thanks for subscribing!

Join our List

To receive a weekly Chamber Chat newsletter featuring local deals, events, and more!

  • Facebook

Contact us

bottom of page